I can’t, and my NIGHT WORLD


I cannot do it.  I just can’t.  Can’t do what?  Well, do you recall my last post, entitled “Sorry!”?  Well, in that post I said I wouldn’t post again until I finished an outline for one of the stories that were keeping me awake at night.  Well, I can’t do it.  Not that I can’t write an outline,  (Okay, that too.  I’ve never been an outline person.) but I can’t not blog.  Even if my day was extremely boring, like today for example.  I won’t bore you with details though.  I’ll tell you about my night world. 

At nine mom makes me “go to sleep”.  I stay up until ten or ten thirty reading on www.wattpad.com, and then stay up until eleven thinking about the stories I was reading.  Then I probably text Slacker, asking if she’s up.  She is.  We chat for maybe ten minutes.  Then I tell her I have to sleep.  I stay awake for I don’t know how long thinking of my stories.  The ones I want to write, and the ones I’m writing.  Somehow, I eventually fall asleep.  Then I wake up again, sometime between 3AM and 5AM.  I wonder if it’s close to six, when I tell myself I will wake up.  It’s not.  I try (and succeed) to fall back asleep.  My first alarm wakes me up at six.  I shut it off and stay in bed.  I fall back asleep again.  My second (and last) alarm wakes me up at seven.  And guess what?  I am TIRED!!! 

I swear I’m becoming nocturnal.

2 thoughts on “I can’t, and my NIGHT WORLD

  1. Some corrections:
    “Well, in that post I said I wouldn’t post again until I finished an outline for one of the stories that were keeping me awake at night.”

    “Were” should be “was.” Explanation: Here you are talking in past tense. (Using “said” and “finished”) Also, the subject of the dependent clause “one of the stories that were keeping me awake at night” is one story, not multiple stories. (The preposition “of” makes the subject “one” not “stories.”)

    Also, adding a comma after “post” would be appropriate, but it’s not necessary. (In blogging, I believe voice should overpower nit-picky grammar.)

    At nine mom makes me “go to sleep”.

    It’s “Mom” not “mom” because you using “Mom” as a name, not a relation. (i.e. “At nine my mom makes me ‘go to sleep.'” or “At nine Mom makes me ‘go to sleep.'”)

    With that sentence, be sure to keep the period _inside_ the quotes. The reason for this is that “go to sleep” is a phrase, not a title of something. (In general, periods will [almost] always be inside of quotes.)

    “I stay awake for I don’t know how long thinking of my stories.”

    Adding dashes can help clarify the separation between time elements and the verb. For example…
    “I stay awake – for I don’t know how long – thinking of my stories.”

    “I wonder if it’s close to six, when I tell myself I will wake up.”

    The way you phrased the idea implies you wonder because you tell yourself to wake up. Clarification time! It’s a simple fix to: “I wonder if it’s close to six, which is when I tell myself I will wake up.”

    Good job! You used “it’s” and “its” correctly. That’s one of the big things. Another thing I liked was your use of a double negative in “I can’t _not_ blog.” (Normally double negatives are a double no-no, so be careful to avoid them while writing formally.)

    Relating to the topic…

    With all the crap that’s going on in my life, I haven’t fallen asleep before midnight in a while. At this point, late nights are a habit. It’s probably partly because I procrastinate … which just so happens to be what I’m doing right now…

    Off to use time wisely (or not),
    Rainbow

    • Thanks! I read all that and I’m gonna copy it to a word document for future refference. I know double negitives normally “no-no’s”, but it’s my blog, and I wanted to make a strong point. Plus I love using double negitves, so if I cannot use them in formal writing, I’m gonna use them here. 😀 AWESOME PERSON!

Leave a Reply

