Day of Silence


I’m participating in the Day of Silence tomorrow!   This is a national even, and I’m really excited!  If you have no idea what I’m talking about, I will explain. 

The Day of Silence is a national event which helps Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Straight Allied teens bring attention to their reality because too often they aren’t heard of must hide. 

So there it is!  That’s right off of the sheet they gave me.  My friends that are participating are: Lilly, Arianna, Alex, Slacker, and Fur.  Basically, lunch at our table is going to be quiet. 

One of my teachers, Mrs. Gonezahlis, explained it like this: We are going to spend a day not sharing how we feel with anyone, which isn’t too appealing.  But if you think about from their perspective, they don’t share how they’re feeling any time. 

I’m proud to be participating in this event, but when I originally heard about it; I just wanted to see if I could go a day without talking.  I still want to see if I can do it, but I’m actually doing it because I feel strongly about what it’s for. 

We had to get special passes to show teachers we are participating in the Day of Silence.  We got a small red square that we put on the corner of our desks.  I think that’s so the teachers don’t call on us in class.  We do have to speak if it’s necessary, like if we had to give a report, but I don’t think I’ll have to speak at all. 

Did you know that today is International Moment of Laughter today?  So laugh!  Laughter is the best medicine!  I love laughing!  LIVE!  LAUGH!  LOVE! 

5 thoughts on “Day of Silence

  1. So did u make it? And how’d all ur friends do? I didn’t participate because I didnt really know about it… But if it were to happen again I would do it.

      • Hahaha that’s definitely when I would have failed. I actually had a different lunch today because our English teacher didn’t want us to have a split lunch due to a 100 point English test, so I got to sit with my other friend who I barely get to see. Plus I had a speaking test in Spanish 🙂

Leave a Reply

