The End of the World


What if the world was ending but there was a slim chance you could save it?  Would you try your hardest to save the world?  Or would you indulge in (possibly) your last few months on Earth?  I know now you think you’d save it, but I want you to think about it really hard.  You may or may not be able to save the world.  Do you want to spend the last days of your life trying in vain to achieve something unachievable?  Or do you want to spend those days doing the things you’ve never done before?  You’d probably spend those days living, really living. 

I would want to spend my last days doing things completely ridiculous.  I would want to spend a day talking to strangers.  That doesn’t sound like living, right?  Think about it: How many times in your life have you walked up to a complete stranger and started talking?  I’ve never done it.  I don’t want to jump to conclusions, but I don’t think you’ve ever done it either. 

I want to finish a novel.  Any novel.  I don’t care if I hate what I’ve written with a passion; I don’t care if the writing sucks.  I want to finish a novel.  It’s something I’ve never done before, and it’s something I’m determined to do before I die.  It’s something I’d like to accomplish before I’m an adult too.  If I can write a novel as an adolescent, I can do it again as an adult.  I have no excuses. 

Lastly, I  want to write a letter to someone I’ve never met and tell them how amazing they are.   This is similar to talking to strangers, but it’s so much more important to me.  Everyone thinks they fail at life when they don’t.  Everyone is so convinced they aren’t good enough when they are.  You are amazing.  You are good enough.  But I doubt anyone really cares that a stranger says this.  They think I don’t care about them.  I do.  I care about you.  All of you, even if I’ve never met you.  Even if you think you’re the biggest jerk in the world.  I care. 

Who do you care about?  Make sure they know that you care before it’s too late.

6 thoughts on “The End of the World

  1. I care about lots of people! I care about

    You, kt, of course. I’ve only just met you but I think you’re awesome. 😉

    Kirsten. She was my first inspiration to start a blog and is amazing as a person. She rocks.

    Leigh. One of the nicest and most humorous people I’ve met in a long time.

    Some of my favorite authors: Harper Lee, Jacqueline West, etc. Go them!

    Stormy on NaNo. She is so nice and is amazing.

    Wordbender on NaNo. I just met her but she rules.

    That’s about it for now… 🙂

  2. Wow this is a powerful post… There are a lot of things I don’t do but that I want to do just because I’m afraid to fail and be embarrassed. But the writing a novel before reaching adulthood is one of my goals too… And maybe we can reach that goal together with “Frenziers/ Berserkers” (can’t remember what we agreed on…)

Leave a Reply

