Publishing


I’m extremely committed to my writing, and I cannot wait to finish my current piece, A Game of Secrets.  I understand that the next big step in writing is editing (bet you thought I’d say publishing!  GOTCHA!).  I have to edit, edit, and edit some more to make my novel as perfect as can be.  Then I have to spend some time reading the whole thing aloud to spot even more errors.  Then I edit, edit, and even possibly rewrite it completely a few times.  And then, when I’m done with that, and I’m so proud of my work, I share it with a friend.  I share it with a friend who will be honest with me and tell me when something sucks.  A friend who will spot the errors I missed.  I have two friends in mind: Frenzy, and Rainbow.  Probably both.   I know that Frenzy is a great friend of mine who can spot so many of my errors, and I love her for that.  Rainbow is another story.  Rainbow will do all the things that Frenzy will  do, but she’ll be honest with me.  She’ll tell me if I need to vary my sentence lengths, or if I need to work on transitions between chapters.  Rainbow has the gift of critiquing nicely.  I know she honestly doesn’t want to hurt my feelings, but she doesn’t need to worry.  It’s not really possible to hurt my feelings when it comes to my writing.  As long as it helps me improve, I’m happy. 

Yes, maybe Frenzy will be honest with me too, but I’m not sure.  Frenzy is a really good friend of mine, and I don’t think she’ll tell me my writing sucks (even if it does).  I don’t know Rainbow as well as I do Frenzy although I appreciate her help just as much.  I think it’s easier to give/accept criticism from strangers/acquaintances.  Maybe I’m wrong. 

After they go through my writing, I correct my mistakes again, and possibly rewrite it one last time.  Then it’s done.  I have a final copy.  What do I do with it next?  The next big step is publishing, and I refuse to run away screaming when faced with the daunting task of attempting to get published as a teen.  It’s not impossible, and I believe that it could happen to me.  I read a post on the blog Keirsten Writes (not to be mistaken for Kirsten Writes!) telling the secret to writing a best-seller.  The secret is to write the best book you can.  Once I’ve done that, there’s nothing more I can do. 

So I’ve written the best book I can.  What now?  I check out publishing companies, noting the ones that might be interested in my novel, and submit my writing to as many of them as I can.  You don’t have to mention your age when you submit your writing, only if they start to think about publishing it.  What do I expect to get from this?  Rejection.  Why do I do it?  I do it because just maybe they won’t reject me, and I don’t care if they reject me.  Rejection letters are going to be part of my life it I become an author.  I’ll still be checking my email every few seconds until I receive word from every last publishing company, but if I get rejected I’ll just move on. 

Getting published as a teen has happened.  It’s not impossible, so don’t treat as if it is.  Don’t treat it as if it’s inevitably going to happen either.  Balance is important. 

Young writer, unite!

6 thoughts on “Publishing

  1. I don’t know if I want to be a teen author. I mean, it would be awesome and all, but I would hate it if I only got success because of my age. I wonder if there’s a way to use a fake age legally… Good luck in your publishing ventures!

  2. The reason I don’t tell you your writing sucks? ‘Cuz it doesn’t!! Haha 🙂 You’re not as good as J.K. Rowling (yet), but hey, you’re only twelve! You are incredibly gifted, its amazing!! I honestly wish i could write as well as you. And yeah, I’m more of a grammar person, so I usually catch those mistakes more often than I do with revising and stuff. I’m glad Rainbow helps with that 🙂

  3. NEVER EDIT [thoroughly] BEFORE REVISING!

    You may end up removing a section that you worked so hard to edit. Trust me, I learned the hard way.

    • Oops… I know revising is important, it just slipped my mind. I guess I just include revising with editing. In fact, I’m awful at editing, so when I say I’m editing I’m normally revising. :/

Leave a Reply

