Title: Other


Do you like my new blog name (The Pen is Mightier)?  Do you like my new tag (Than the Sword)?  I thought it was clever.  I think a lot of my readers also read Kirsten’s blog, and Kirsten recently wrote a couple of posts on poetry.  I really enjoyed Kirsten’s poetry style, so I tried to replicate it.  How did I do? 

A feather
Hanging
Just over my head
Out of my reach

Stretching
And reaching
Trying
And failing

The only hopeless person
Among thousands of hopeful

The feather blows away

The wind stealing my hope

What do you think?  No, it’s not exactly like Kirsten’s poems, but I tried.  I didn’t try and make the stanzas get shorter and shorter, but it happened all the same.  I wrote another one in math class.  This one made me question my sanity. 

A single eyelash
Falling
Earthbound
No one will miss it
No one notices
It’s slow decent
It lands on the floor
Forgotten

Yes, I wrote a poem about an eyelash.  Get over it. 

One last thing on poetry.  In ILA English we’re annotating poems!  Basically we get to analyze the poem and discover what it means.  I’m doing one by Robert Frost. 

Stopping By Woods on a Snowy Evening
 
Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.
 
My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

 
If you have any idea what this poem means, comment!  I have absolutely no idea, but I love this poem. 
 
We made cookies in FACS (Family And Consumer Science) today!  It should have been easy.  We had a recipe in front of us, and our teacher demonstrated on Friday.  It was easy for our group, but some other groups had trouble.  Take Lilly’s group for example.  We were supposed to use one egg.  ONE EGG!  They used three.  THREE EGGS!  They used more baking soda than necessary.  That’s all I recall her telling me, but I’m sure they messed up a bunch more.  How did they even get three eggs?  Our group, on the other hand, was much better.  We accidentally used twice the vanilla and twice the cinnamon, but that’s okay….  We also snuck a full cup of chocolate chips in when we were only supposed to use half a cup.  Hehe… 
 
CONTEST!  My contest was to see who would be the 100th commenter.  The winner is… we don’t have a winner yet.  But in 8 more comments we will!  So comment away, my lovely readers!  LOVE YOU GUYS! 
12 thoughts on “Title: Other

  1. Would it be mean if I commented a bunch of times so I could be the one-hundreth comment? Lol. We actually had to make a poster on a poet a month ago, and I did Robert Frost… I can’t remember exactly what it means but I’m positive my teacher explained it… I think it is talking about life but I’m not completely sure.. I’ll check with friends and get back to you on that.

  2. Ok so basically the lovely scene is describing temptation, and the horse is his reasoning telling him not to stop and be tempted. However, there is a possibility that in the fourth stanza, first line, “the woods are lovely, dark and deep” he is describing death, and is implying of being tempted by suicide, which is why after that line he says “But I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep” where sleep equals death. Hope I helped with giving you ideas!

  3. Ok, you have successfully distracted me from homework. I hope you’re happy 😛 Haha, love ya Lemonhead 😉

  4. Add me into the group being distracted from homework…

    My FACS group put in powdered sugar into our pannekoeken instead of flour. It turned out flat, dry, and burned. That’s what happens when I’m not paying attention to the preppy girls, but the special ed girl instead. But if I make sure the preppy girls are actually doing things right, the special ed girl manages to hurt herself.

    Thank goodness we’re doing sewing now.

    • Haha, really? Oh, gosh… Lol I can’t even think how you would do that. Salt and sugar, maybe, but flour and powdered sugar, not so much. Our pannakoekens actually turned out very well. But a person in our group cut like half of the whole pannekoeken for himself :/ it was still yummy though 🙂

  5. Well, I think the poem is about commitments. The poet made a commitment, and must stick to it, despite the fact that he wants to stop and think. Just my two cents.
    And your poems are awesome! Not exactly my style, but still pretty awesome. I think. I like the eyelast one.

Leave a Reply

