The End is in Sight


The end of school, that is.  The end of school makes a lot of kids want to shout and dance, but it is this time of year where you need to keep your head in the game.  Teachers plot to bombard you with projects and tests during this time of year.  I know this for a fact.  Today, I got a sneak peek at the end of the school mania.  In ILA reading we will be taking two tests (50 questions each) on vocabulary roots.  For those of you too lazy to do the math, that’s 100 vocabulary roots I have to memorize.  In ILA English we were just assigned an end of the year project.  I’m not too worried about this one because it’s just writing.  I’m probably going to write a short fairytale.  I’m not sure if it’s a short story or a fairytale, so I’m calling it a short fairytale until I figure it out.  Lilly is also doing a fairytale.  Hers is going to be The Little Mermaid with a twist.  The prince is a mermaid, and the princess is a human.  They both want to be with each other, so they both try and figure out ways to change to the others species.  They both figure it out, and they change, so now the prince is a human and the princess is a mermaid.  Pretty cool, huh?

My short fairytale is going to be about demi-fairies.  They are half fairy, half human, but sometimes demi-fairies are born without wings.  The are the wingless or midgets, as some call them.  What makes it a fairytale is in the end my main character (one of the wingless) marries a demi-fairy prince.  Yeah, it’s kind of lame, but whatever. 

In history we will be reviewing everything we learned the whole year (eeeeek!), and I have no idea what we’ll be doing in math or science.  As they say, “Ignorance is bliss”. 

Book of the Post: Alanna The First Adventure

The first book Tamora Pierce (my favorite author) had published.  It is a thrilling tale of a girl named Alanna who disguises herself as a boy to become a knight.  I REALLY recommend this book.   I have read it many times.

2 thoughts on “The End is in Sight

Leave a Reply

