To Prologue or Not to Prologue…


I was gone for one day. ONE DAY! And now I realize how much that actually is in the blog world. I have to catch up on both commenting and reading for several blog posts. You guys really out-did yourselves. I’m scared to see what my inbox will look like when I get back from a week of camp. Oh, well. On top of catching up on blog posts, I have to enter at least one more of Kirsten’s contests. I promised myself. 

 To prologue or not to prologue; that is the question.  Prologues can add a lot to a story, but they aren’t always necessary.  I’m wondering if I should add a prologue to my book.  It wouldn’t add much back story (which is what a prologue is normally for), but it would add a lot of foreshadowing.  Foreshadowing is a key element in my story.  My story also starts a bit abruptly.  I think a prologue would help that problem.  So what do you think?  Should I add a prologue?  Or is a prologue unnecessary?

I have heard from various bloggers about a “Camp NaNoWriMo”.  I’m pretty sure you write a novel in a month in August.  I think.  If I’m right, YIPEE!  If I’m wrong, what is Camp NaNoWriMo?  For the sake of this blog post, let’s assume that during August I’m to write a novel.  I think I’ll write a cheesy fairytale romance novel with an almost sad ending.  Almost.  So it’s a happy ending.  Yay!  I think I’ve mentioned this one before, and I already have a cover for it! 

I wish you good luck on your novel in August!

One thought on “To Prologue or Not to Prologue…

Leave a Reply

