Camp (The Official Update)


When I wrote the post “The Problem with Camp“, I left something out.  I am subscribed to several blogs.  That means I am behind on reading many posts.  My inbox is full of over twenty posts from many bloggers.  I have to set aside a large chunk of time to read them all.  I’m probably not going to comment on many (unless they were super-duper spectacular) or participate in any  polls, but I will try my best to read them.  Promise. On a more relevant topic, camp was purely amazing.  I told you last post that I would share my favorite verse and the camps theme verse with you guys.  I think I’ll do that now. 

Proverbs 10:20

GOD’S WORD Translation (GW)

20The tongue of a righteous person is pure silver.
The hearts of wicked people are worthless.

This is my favorite verse ever.  I remember my brother showing this to me when I was little.  I remembered the verse, but I didn’t know where to find it in the bible.  Then, just this camp, I found it!  Awesome stuff, right?

1 Timothy 3:16

Common English Bible (CEB)

16 Without question, the mystery of godliness is great: he was revealed as a human, declared righteous by the Spirit, seen by angels, preached to throughout the nations, believed in around the world, and taken up in glory.

Here is the camp theme verse.  I searched through many Bible versions to find one that was easy to understand.  This one was the best I found. 

This camp was all about asking hard questions, discovering myths (such as: God wants you to be happy.  If what makes you happy is sinful, God doesn’t want that to make you happy), and digging deeper into the mysteries of faith, the Holy Spirit, and Christ.  If anyone want me to do a follow-up post just on what we learned, I will gladly do so, but for now I will continue with what happened at camp. 

Although it was very cold, I swam every day possible.  On the last day (also the warmest) I went on the black raft.  People will not hesitate to throw you off of the black raft.  Most people jump off when someone yells “Clear the raft!”, but not me.  I just chill out and continue to soak up some sun.  That is, until someone actually tries to throw me off.  Then I fight.  I am too small, light-weight, and weak to actually throw anyone off myself, but those traits can be an advantage when someone tries to throw me off.  I can wiggle out of tight holds, slip out if someone is on top of me, and crawl away quickly if needed.  Very few campers ever get me off, but the counselors do on a regular basis.  I am constantly going over onto the “counselor’s side” of the black raft.  They take the half by the anchor, and the campers take the other half.  If you cross “the line” (generally a very large, heavy counselor), you generally get an automatic ticket off the raft.  But I know when to cross “the line”, and where to sit.  You cross “the line” when the counselor that is “the line” is focussed on something else (say, a person doing a flip off the raft).  Then you make your way over the male counselors (they sit closer to the line than the female ones) and plop down by the female counselors.  Most girl counselors don’t care if you sit on their side.  Once I sat there and avoided all chaos until I was perfectly dry.  Then, of course, a guy counselor noticed me.  He asked, “How did you get over here?”.  I always answer, “I walked”.  Then they generally say something along the lines of me being too dry and they toss me off.  It’s all good, though. 

Clean time is another fun thing at camp.  It doesn’t seem like it would be, but it is.  After breakfast, a counselor announces the clean time theme.  The theme can be anything from overall cleanliness (your room has to be sparkling, and not because of glitter), to booby trap (best booby trap wins!).  In past years, my dorm has won most of the clean time competitions, but this year we won only one (overall cleanliness).  Our treasure hunt almost won, but the winning dorm had a better hunt than us (we had a pretty awesome hunt too, and we had a great treasure, but they had the clean time judges walking around camp for half and hour!  How can we beat that?). 

I would continue my ramblings, but I’m sure you are bored by now.  If by some miracle, you aren’t bored, ask me to continue this post in a comment.  I have so much more to talk about (nine-square, aquatic four-square, the white raft, magic number, water balloons with shaving cream on them…).  For now, I bid thee farewell.

One thought on “Camp (The Official Update)

Leave a Reply

