My Adventure with the Crazy Squirrel


Yeah… I’m not even joking.  This morning at approximately 6:30 AM I experienced something I will not soon forget.  I should tell you the story from the beginning, though.  Here goes nothing. 

I woke up at 6 AM.  Normally I get up at 6:30 AM, but I am glad I didn’t today.  I walked downstairs, more energetic than I normally am in the morning.  My dog also was quite energetic.  She was whining at the door, so I decided to let her out.  At the time, it seemed to be a rational thing to do.  I let her out, and she went berserk.  Normally when this happens, she races down the stairs as fast as she can to get closer to the deer, geese, or ducks that were in our backyard (once there was even a coyote).  This time, she stayed near the top.  Why?  There was a squirrel there.  She barked at it and tried to jump on it, but the squirrel ran down the steps some.  My dog ran after it.  Then the squirrel came back up.  So did my dog.  That went on and on for a while.  It was hilarious. 

The scary thing was, not even I could scare the squirrel away.  It was about two feet away from me.  I could read out and touch it, but it wouldn’t move.  Somehow, the squirrel managed to make it above the door onto our deck.  We have a screen deck, so a door is necessary.  The squirrel was just hanging onto the door and breathing fast while my dog sat there and whined at it.  I was also stuck outside because my dog got stuck, so I had to get her unstuck.  So there we were.  My dog, the squirrel and I.  The squirrel wouldn’t move.  It just sat there making squirrel noises.  I didn’t want to open the door and risk the squirrel getting on my deck (or worse, in my house!), so I brought my dog around front, opened the garage and got in that way.  This was all at 6:30 in the morning. 

It turns out the squirrel was still there when my brother put my dog out later that morning.  His solution to the problem was to hit the screen so the squirrel would fall off.  Poor squirrel.  I’m pretty sure the squirrel had rabies if it was acting like that….  Poor rabid squirrel.  Things like this do not happen everyday.

Leave a Reply

