4th of July and Camp NaNoWriMo


I haven’t posted at all recently.  That is because of a little thing called Camp NaNoWriMo.  I’m not all that sure on what it is, but I’m pretty sure I’m supposed to write a novel in a month.  No problem.  Except, there is a problem.  I was going through the posts that I hadn’t read on the blogs that I follow and I discovered Camp NaNoWriMo started on July 1st.  I was perfectly oblivious to this fact because I thought it started on August 1st.  Thankfully it was only July 2nd when I discovered my mistake, so I had time to write.  I made a wimpy goal of 10,000 and came up with a plot pronto. 

Coming up with a plot in only minutes isn’t all that hard.  Lately, I have become obsessed with something (this contributed the lack of posts).  This something is called Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  Old TV show, but I love it.  I’m already on season three and I started watching last Wednesday (this is most definitely a record for me).  I generally base what I write off of what interests me at the time.  Thus, Buffy the Vampire Slayer became useful.  I also took a dare from the dare machine on NaNoWriMo for the young writers.  My dare said something along the lines of “start you next chapter with: Who knew becoming a celebrity could be so easy?”.  So I have a starting point and a general idea that it’s going to be like Buffy the Vampire Slayer. 

The next step is to write it out.  With my wimpy goal of 10,000, catching up wasn’t that hard.  In fact, after I did the math, I found out I had to write less than 25o words a day.  I didn’t think this would be this easy.  I remember NaNoWriMo in November.  It was my first time participating, and I had only started on the fifth.  I made my goal 10,00o words and I struggled to reach it.  This time it’s going to be a piece of cake. 

The 4th of July was yesterday.  How about that?  I had fun.  I’m not all that patriotic, but it was still a fun day. And, of course, when that day ended, there was fireworks.  We had big fireworks.  They were the kind that light up the whole neighborhood over and over again.  In our neighborhood, you don’t even need to light off your own fireworks.  People were just sitting outside on their deck and shouting at us to light more fireworks.  Well, the kids were doing most of the shouting.  My favorite part was the sparklers.  We had so many boxes, that my dad would hand me a box and I would light them all at once.  We had so many.  It was such a fun day.

2 thoughts on “4th of July and Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Buffy the Vampire Slayer strangely enough i have just discovered it too and i’m half way through the first season. Weird huh? It inspired me to someday write a book about the undead. Probably a Zombie Apocalypse story.

Leave a Reply

