I can Write all Night


I did it.  I pulled an all-nighter.  I wrote all (well, most) of last night.  I am really tired now, but I have to pretend I’m not so my parents don’t know.  That’s right, my parents didn’t give me permission to stay up all night writing (and reading).  Personally, I think this was the most fun part of my night.  I shall give you a detailed description of my night, hour by hour.  I hope you enjoy (if you want a guide to pulling an all-nighter, click here). 

11:00 – 12:00 (The hour of word wars)

These early hours of the night normally are the most active.  The Chatzy that we had going was bursting with people and word wars.  This is where I got the majority of my word-count from.  Although it was only an hour of the night, it still yielded the most rewards.  Unfortunately, my father sent me up to bed at around midnight.  This is where the fun began. 

12:00 – 1:00 (The hour of waiting)

The night is still young, and I am hiding away in bed, waiting to make my next move.  I have to seem like I’m sleeping in case anyone decides to check on me, but staying awake is also a problem.  I decide to text Slacker (she’s always up late) to solve this problem.  This proves to be entertaining and helpful.  Some people think they can’t pull all-nighters because the write in a “computer room” down the hall from their room.  I write in a computer room a level below all of the bedrooms, and I still managed it.  I was waiting in my bed, just waiting….

1:00 – 2:00 (The hour of bad surprises)

While I was texting Slacker, I decided to check on my dad at 1:30, and every ten minutes after that.  All I had to do was sneak quietly down the stairs and see if the computer light is on.  At 1:30, I started spying.  I snuck down the stairs, only to hear snoring.  My father had fallen asleep at the computer.  This was not good.  At 1:40, I snuck down again.  I was half way down the first set of stairs when I heard my father get up from the computer and start to come up stairs. This was the only time I had to perform my EBP (Emergency Back-up Plan).  I raced back up the stairs and leapt into bed, quickly covering myself with the covers.  My dad checked on me, and then shut my door.  This is a problem because my door creaks when I open it.  I went to the bathroom as an excuse to open my creaky door, then went downstairs to the computer room.  Only, no one was in the Chatzy anymore.  Everyone had bailed and decided to sleep instead.  I was hurt. 

2:00 – 3:00 (The hour of will-power)

This hour was brutal.  I wanted to sleep for a while until someone joined the Chatzy.  We chatted. We word warred.  Then they had to leave.  It was hard not to cave in and leave too.  I ate my banana.  I drank some water.  I went pee again.  And I still wanted to sleep very badly.  So I wrote, and I thought of the magical sunrise I would witness.  It would be worth it, I told myself.  It had to be worth it. 

3:00 – 4:00 (The hour of forgetfulness)

I honestly remember little about this hour.  All I remember is that I got bored with writing, so I started to read.  I read Iron King.  So far, it’s a good book.  I also remember wishing for the night to be over. 

4:00 – 5:00 (The hour of reading)

I read.  Boring, but true. 

5:00 – 6:00 (The hour of sunrise)

The sky was finally beginning to lighten.  Night was giving way to day, and I was up to see it.  I snuck outside to watch the sun rise, but only for a few minutes.  One minute, my eyes couldn’t focus on anything, and the next is was crystal clear.  I skipped around and danced some, just enjoying the silence.  It was a magical sunrise, even though I was only outside for the beginning.  At this point I made myself some hot chocolate.  I mixed several hot coco mixes together until I was satisfied.  Then I wrote a bit more. 

6:00 – 7:00 (The hour of showering and sleep)

I quit writing and was very tired.  Very.  Tired.  Kill-me-now tired.  So I took a very hot shower.  Very.  Hot.  Burning my skin off.  It didn’t help.  I guess i should have went for the cold shower instead.  Then I slept until 8:30 when I had to get up for archery. 

This, my friends, concludes your tour of a veteran all-nighter’s night.  Thank you.

2 thoughts on “I can Write all Night

Leave a Reply

