Sunset Drink


Right.  I’m not in the mood for an introduction sentence or two, so let’s get straight to the point.  I was in my walk-in pantry (we have a lot of food), and I decided to close the door.  Once closed, I noticed a sticky not on my door that says “Look under the chip basket”.  Obeying the sticky note, I lift up the chip basket and look underneath.  I find a few sheets of paper with drawings on them.  They all say “Sunset Drink: The only drink that brings the beach to you.”  I then compliment a mini me for coming up with that phrase.  Yes, I put those papers under the chip basket reminding me of the best drink in the world.  A drink I created, and I wanted to recreate this drink.  The problem is, I lost the instructions a long time ago.  The solution is to play around with the ingredients I remember to recreate this master thirst quencher. 

The ingredients I remember include:

  • A clear, bubbly can of citrus soda
  • Powdered Tang (one spoonful)
  • A little bit of  apple juice

That is all I remember.  I’m going to go create this drink.  Be back later. 

LATER is approximately 16 minutes and 27 seconds.  While I was away, I managed to make something resembling Sunset Drink.  I shall now give you a play-by-play of how it went down.

First, I found the Sierra Mist, but then I realized that the Seirra Mist was in a bottle.  I needed a can.  I walked to the basement and came back with can of Seirra Mist.  You can also use Sprite.  Heck, if you wanted to you could use Ginger Ale or Mountain Dew too!  (Unintentional rhyming rocks!)  Then, I poured the can of citrus soda into a large measuring cup (you can just put it in a bowl, or even a large glass if you want too).

After that was done, I added a spoonful of Tang.

Then I added the last ingredient that I remembered.  That’s right, apple juice. 

Unfortunately, I was missing one key ingredient.  I have yet to figure out what it is, but it’s the thing that adds red coloring to the drink to make it look more sunset colored.  I used cranberry juice.  This made it tast bitter, so I added a very little bit of lemon juice and some juice from a jar of cherries.  It helped a bit.  Here is what the final product looks like:

I know what you’re thinking.  I’d like you to be thinking, “Wow!  That’s so amazing and delicious looking!”.  In reality you’re thinking, “A strawberry?  Really?”.  Unfortunately, I’m a bit low on gummy fruit at the moment, so a strawberry was all I had. 

Now, I have a very important poll that I’d like you to fill out.  I really, really, really want you to fill this out.  The future of my blog depends on how you fill this out.  It’s really quick, so please take the time to do it!

I want to know this, because I know my blog doesn’t exactly have a professional aura.  The theme isn’t too bad, but my writing is quite conversational.  I don’t know if my readers like that or not.  So I’d really like to know.  Thanks! 

Sunset Drink, the only drink that brings the beach to you!

4 thoughts on “Sunset Drink

  1. Wow! That looks so good. Really. And you have a lovely backyard. By the way, tell Rainbow I said hi. It turns out we were commenting on the same vlogbrothers video. Small world. I wish you would do more cooking posts, if you can, because this was actually quite interesting. I’ll have to try it.

  2. To get the right color you could add orange juice instead of cranberry juice, lemon juice, and cherry juice. This might make it easier to make and give it a strong citrus flavor which would match the color. But hey, what do I know?

    • Yeah, I found that cherry juice worked great! The awesome thing about Sunset Drink is that you can subsitute one ingredient for another. Like instead of Tang, you could use orange juice.

Leave a Reply

