Contest 101


Hey!  So glad you showed up!  Today I have some contests for you, but let’s read the rules first.  It has to be your own work.  It has to be in the designated word count to be eligible for prizes.  No offensive content.  Have fun!  Now here are the contests. 

200th commenter:

Be the 200th commenter!

Arg:

Write a story called “My journey on a pirate ship” in as many or as few words as you like. 

Over the Rainbow:

You get launched into your favorite book.  What happens?  How did you get there?  Will you be able to get back?

Lost for words:

Write a micro-story (100-250 words) starting with “They had nothing to say to each other.”

I don’t:

Write a story about an arranged marriage.  100-1500 words. 

Yawn:

Write about the most boring day you’ve ever had, only make it sound not boring at all.  500-1000. 

What does that mean?:

Blow the dust off of your dictionary and pick ten words out of it that you don’t know the meaning of.  Do NOT read the definition, create your own. 

So?  What do you think?  To submit your writing entries click the cherry and email it to that address.  Have fun!  All contests are awarded with 1 wish!  All entries must be IN MY INBOX by August 1st.  Is that enough time?  You may enter as many contests as you’d like!  Any questions?

24 thoughts on “Contest 101

  1. Are you actually close to 200 comments?

    I think I’ll try the micro-story that starts with “They had nothing to say to each other,” but I don’t know your email address. I can’t find the cherry.

  2. I just sent mine. Yes, fast, but it was the micro-story and I didn’t want to forget. I have one more question. Is the picking-ten-words-and-using-them-without-the-definitions for all categories, or is it a separate contest? Because I didn’t do it in my story. Just ignore it if I did it wrong.

  3. Pingback: Beach Weekend | leighlights

  4. I’m also going to try “I don’t,” mostly because I have a lot of competition in the other category, and I think it’s a cool idea.

Leave a Reply

