I’m Home!


GAH.  I haven’t posted in forever.  I’m sorry about that, dear reader.  If it helps, I had a great vacation!  Now, as you may have guessed (I hope you guessed…), I’m home!  I missed my home so much.  You want to know what else I missed (No, we don’t, Katie)?  I missed eating dinner at my kitchen table.  Going out to eat is nice and all, but doing it every day for two weeks is just tiring.  Sadly, I must admit that this was the longest vacation I’d ever been on. 

Just to calmly clear things up, THIS POST IS NOT ABOUT MY VACATION!  I know you probably don’t want to read about how great my vacation was, so I’m never going to tell you.  Nah uh.  No amount of begging will make me tell you.  I’m going to show you.  I’m going to post lots of pictures from my vacation on one post!  Unfortunately, I need them to be downloaded onto the computer first (from multiple cameras, thanks much), and I am not tech savvy.  So I guess you guys have to wait a while. 

Technology….  That reminds me!  I’m going to get a laptop soon (soon meaning whenever I can afford one).  This is the laptop I want:

2753496 Front Large
Isn’t it pretty?  Okay, so it may not be the best color, but I can deal with pewter.  I’m just so excited for my first laptop!  I want it before November (aka: before NaNoWriMo), so I have to clean the bathroom a lot and beg my mother for money.  Just kidding, I’m not much for begging.  For birthdays and Christmas I just tell her to get me whatever.  It drives her insane, but she always makes me happy. I’M GETTING A LAPTOP! 

It’s going to be so wonderful and perfect and stuff!  I’M SO EXCITED!  The fact that I’m buying it with my own money makes it loads better!  I’m practically hyperventilating right now!  All of my friends are probably shaking their heads thinking “I don’t know why I’m her friend…”.  But cut me some slack (especially you, Fur.  You and your expensive, blue, huge laptop that you refuse to let me steal!), it’s my first laptop! 

I have this new story idea BUT PLEASE KEEP READING!  I felt that you all were yawning.  Especially my friends.  One time, my friend Ariana did an impression of me at lunch, and she said, “Big words, big words, OOOH!  Book idea!” …I thought she did pretty well.  BUT I just got OFF TOPIC (It’s what I do best!).  The book idea in question is (probably) going to be called Shadows Rising. 

The book is going to be about teenagers with super powers.  Yeah, I know, overused much?  Only, this is semi-original.  It’s set in mid-evil times (most of my books are).  Basically, once a kid finds out they have a power, or shadow, they have two choices.  One: Go to the king and work for him.  So far, so good, right?  Choice two: Tell and adult and get killed by them.  You see, everyone who doesn’t have a power is convinced that people who do have no souls and that a “shadow” took their souls place.  It’s how they explain the bad things the people with shadows who work for the king do. 

BUT ALYX IS DIFFERENT.  When she stumbles upon a group of misfit shadows, she fibs and says she’s one too.  She claims that her shadow gives her impeccable aim with her bow which isn’t such a lie considering she can hit pretty much anything you ask her to.  The group believes her and lets her in on their plan to kill the king. They don’t want to die, but they also refuse to work for the evil king. 

But the group of poorly trained shadows (and one normal girl) barely make it in the castle.  They are stopped by an elite group of shadows that take a liking to Alyx.  Soon she’s whisked away from her friends and shown a whole new world where she can have anything she wants.  She makes new friends with new shadows, but her troubles are not yet over.  There’s a boy (there’s ALWAYS a boy) who has the shadow that allows him to know when other shadows are used near him.  Will the boy tell on Alyx?  Or will he keep her secret?  And what about the king who plans on exterminating all who are not shadows? 

That summary was a LOT longer than I thought it would be.  Sorry.  I really want to know what you think about my idea!  Is it too cliché?  Do you think it could work?  Do you think I’ll actually finish it? 

X’s and O’s,

Katie Lemontop (Hehe!  Thanks Fur!)

3 thoughts on “I’m Home!

  1. LOL I love how you spelled “medeival” sorry just had to say that 😉 and yay, so glad you’re home! Chat soon, I hope?

  2. 😀 glad you didn’t die on your escapade!! (escapade? escapade.)

    i was sooo bummed when i saw no posts in my inbox. *stern glare*

    oooly good laptop choice 🙂 i like me dem big screens.

    loves yas lemontop!

Leave a Reply

