A First


Today I experienced a first.  Mmm hmm.  And I’m going to share it with you!  I’m not going to make this post very long because it took so long to create this first.  What is this?

It’s a vlog.  GASP!  She created a vlog?  Well, yes and no.  It’s not really a vlog, but its a video with words and music and it’s awesome.  And it took me a while to create because technology hates me.  I’ll not go into detail about what happened, but I will rant a bit. 

So my video was finished, but then the program logged me out.  I know right?  That’s mean.  I didn’t think too much about this because I figured I could just log back in.  Logical, right?  For any dumb, stupid person.  After several failed log in attempts I checked my email, and you know what it said?  Of course you don’t, I haven’t told you yet.  It said that I hadn’t entered the necessary account information.  Well excuse me for wanting to put only my last initial!  So I created a new account with my whole last name. 

By now I’m sure you really want to see what I’ve managed to create.  Well, here you go!

<object type=”application/x-shockwave-flash” data=”http://www.masher.com/static/flash/mashPlayerView.swf?userId=39a4bc50-ac90-4b02-b931-f660bb26cdcd&mashid=4653e325-37b7-3ff1-25cc-000053154d0b” width=”458″ height=”300″ id=”flashMashPlayer”> <param name=”movie” value=”http://www.masher.com/static/flash/mashPlayerView.swf?userId=39a4bc50-ac90-4b02-b931-f660bb26cdcd&mashid=4653e325-37b7-3ff1-25cc-000053154d0b”/> <param name=”quality” value=”high” /> <param name=”wmode” value=”transparent” /><param name=”flashvars” value=”configPath=http://www.masher.com/flashConfig.jsp” /></object>

I’m really hoping that that showed up as a video, not a bunch of text.  Well, we’ll see! 

X’s and O’s,

Katie Lemontop

10 thoughts on “A First

  1. Let me give you a bit of an explanation from someone learning to program:

    Every web page is made through a set of instructions. The language these instructions are in is called HTML. The video you want to insert – or embed – in your blog has a unique set of instructions or code. Masher gave you the code to copy and paste. The code includes the tag “object.” Due to security reasons, WordPress deletes object tags.

    I’m not experienced with Masher, so I don’t know how to change the code from Masher so that it doesn’t use the object tag. I highly recommend using YouTube instead. YT has embed codes that can get around issues. (Faith has proof of that, obviously.) Also, YouTube has an awesome and kind community of its own. (Yay for vlogger and nerdfighter bias!)

Leave a Reply

