Groove Shark and Preparing for NaNoWriMo


First off, Groove Shark is a website (www.grooveshark.com).  It is not a dance move or whatever else you may have thought it to be.  Groove Shark is a place where you can listen to music for free online.  I’m listening to my playlist in progress right now.  I really like this website.  You can find just about every song on there.  The playlist in progress is going to be my NaNoWriMo inspiration playlist.  The rules I made for creating it are:

1. Only two songs by the same artist in a row are allowed. 

And…

2. Use many different genres of music

And…

3. Make sure the song makes you think in some way

Yup.  Just three rules.  I don’t want a lot of similar songs in a row because I don’t want to zone out.  When there are a lot of similar songs in a row it’s easy to do that.  On my playlist I have the artists Beethoven, My Chemical Romance, Skillet, Carrie Underwood, Coldplay, A Fine Frenzy, Billy Joel, Randy Stonehill, and Trading Yesterday so far.  I have a very diverse taste in music, which makes rules one and two quite easy. 

The second thing I want to talk about is NaNoWriMo.  I am planning.  In fact, I have been planning since the beginning of summer.  Most people start planning a bit, but Frenzy and I have done a lot of work.  Why?  Because we’re writing it together.  This is going to be a lot harder than I had first anticipated, but I’m really excited.  It’s going to be so much fun! 

I’m also planning for NaNoWriMo solo.  I’m saving my money to buy a laptop.  This means cleaning the bathroom and vacuuming the stairs every week.  I also want to buy quite a few books on writing.  The one I want the most is Book in a Month by Victoria Lynn Schmidt.  It’s a bit expensive, but I think it will help me a bunch.  I will, of course, share what I learn with you guys. 

Another book I want to buy is Novelists Boot Camp by Todd A. Stone.  I’ve heard it’s a good kick it the pants to get you writing.  And you do push-ups, or so I’ve heard.  The last book I want is The Art of War for Writers by James Scott Bell.  After NaNoWriMo, I want another book by James Scott Bell called Revision and Self-Editing.  I’ve heard good things about this book. 

So basically I need to make a ton of money.  I can do it.  I can.  I will do it.  I will.  You just wait and see!  Soon enough I’ll have that laptop and those books!  HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! 

Do it Later Demotivator

Procrastinators, this ones for you (COUGH Slacker COUGH).

X’s and O’s,

Lady-Marian

Leave a Reply

