Lucid Dreaming


I think lucid dreaming is one of the coolest things ever.  If you don’t know what a lucid dream is, let me give you a brief definition.  A lucid dream is a dream in which you are aware you are dreaming.  Lucid dreams are also usually associated with dream control although you can have one with out the other.  For me, I am normally able to control myself in my lucid dreams.  I have never tried to control someone else.  If you didn’t catch that, I have had lucid dreams, and let me tell you, it is the most amazing experience. 

Why in the world would I want to have a lucid dream?  Um, besides the obvious reason of being able to do whatever you want and not have to deal with the consequences of real life?  Yeah, that’s why I do it.  In a lucid dream, with some practice, you can do whatever you want.  You can fly, perform magic spell, chat with your characters, stuff yourself with your favorite foods and never gain any weight.  But wait.  How can I taste things?  It’s a dream.  Lucid dreams are very life-like.  I would describe them as being more real that real life.  In dreams, my most active sense (besides sight) is touch.  I can feel the grittyness of sand or the smoothness of a soft blanket.  I haven’t tried to eat anything in a lucid dream yet, but I’m sure you’d be able to taste what you’re eating. 

The initial problem I had when I started to try to lucid dream was getting too excited and waking up.  All of a sudden, I would realize I was dreaming, and I would get so excited that I would wake up.  Lately, I get less excited because I’ve done it more often.  Before Wednesday night, I hadn’t had a lucid dream for over two months.  I hadn’t really tried.  And then I had one.  I don’t know why, but I did.  I’ve had three more since then.  These lucid dreams are longer and more easily sustained that my first, short snippets. 

I love to fly.  Once I realize that I’m dreaming and become lucid, the most common thing I like to do is fly.  I’ve heard that some people find it hard to do things that they couldn’t do in real life in their lucid dreams, so to start flying, I gave myself wings.  That should help me, yes?  Things with wings can fly, no?  I did indeed rise into the air.  But it was so slow, so I gave myself a jet-pack instead.  The jet pack propelled me into the air, I was having the time of my life!  And then my alarm clock woke me up.  After that first successful flight, flying has gotten easier.  I just close my dream eyes and imagine that I’m flying.  When I open my dream eyes, I’m flying!

There is more that one way to lucid dream. The one I’ve been telling you about, is a MILD (Mnemonic Induced Lucid Dream).  This is where you realize you are dreaming in a dream.  The other way I am familiar with is the WILD way (Wake Induced Lucid Dream).  In WILD’s, you fall asleep with an active mind, and as soon as your body is asleep, you begin to lucid dream.  Because your mind was active, it realizes you are dreaming right away, so you can begin your lucid dream immediately. 

That’s all for today.  Has anyone else had a lucid dream?  Please tell me about it! 

Economics Demotivator

X’s and O’s,

Katie Lemontop

2 thoughts on “Lucid Dreaming

  1. Lucky! I never have lucid dreams. The moment I fall asleep, I lose feeling. My dreams are either scary, odd, or exciting. My dreams- when they happen- are like a mixture of sounds, colors, images, and emotions, but my dreams- in the aftermath- look like the quality of a 40s TV show- grainy, crackly, and blurry. The second I realize I’m dreaming, I wake up.

    • Awww! That’s too bad, leigh. My dreams are very vivid and super life-like, so sometimes it’s hard to realize I’m dreaming. Take last night, for example. I had a wonderful dream that I got into Pottermore (except Pottermore was a Harry Potter museum with a water slide). Then there was this bacteria that turned into a half-human half-snake thing that could compell people to come near it and it would eat them. I ended up saving the day by blowing up Pottermore.

      Normally my dreams aren’t as happy-ending-ish. Normally they aren’t as story-book-ish either. Normally they’re just a sequence of random events with no plot. That’s why last night’s dream was weird.

      Also, when I woke up I checked my email. I didn’t get into Pottermore. Apparently my dreams like to taunt me.

Leave a Reply

