Rewriting?


The question of whether to reread books or not to reread books has been a question on several blogs that I’ve visited.  I have a somewhat similar question, but it’s less of  a “should I?” and more of a “can I?”.  If you read the title of this post (which I really hope you did), you already know what I’m talking about.  Hurray for paying attention!  Yeah, I’m thinking about rewriting.  This, I think, is a much more daunting task that rereading a book, and this is what I’m going to try to attempt.  Rewriting is something most authors (or wannabe authors, like myself) do in their lifetime.  I’ve never tried to do anything this huge before.  Heck, I’ve never edited a novel.  In fact, editing scares me more than rewriting.  Oh yeah, did I mention I’m going to take a 20,000 word novel and make it 50,000 words?  All before November? 

If you read my post Updates and NaNoWriMo, you know that I’m freaking out about NaNoWriMo already.  You’re probably wondering what has possessed me to keep up with school, write and outline (or two, depending on the weather), and rewrite a whole novel.  My answer: The lure of possible publication.  I read about this opportunity here.  The only problem with this opportunity is that if you’re 13-19 years old, you have to write a novel of 50,000-90,000 words.  How am I going to do this?  How am I planning to make a 20,000 word novel 50,000 words?  Well, for starters, I’m going to disregard every rule I’ve read about rewriting.  Instead of reading through my first draft and jotting down the things I want to change, I’m just going to jump right into the rewriting stage with only my memory to guide me.  This is because if I read it over, I’ll want to keep it the same because it’s that spectacular.  I can’t do that.  I need to make the chapters longer, add about a dozen chapters, use more diverse vocabulary, demonstrate my usage of proper grammar, and not have any previous ideas of how the novel is “supposed to go” clouding my already unstable judgement. 

The thing that scares me most about the rewriting process is the part where I have to write an outline for NaNoWriMo at the same time.  You have to admit, that’s quite a feat.  I have to write approximately 1000 words of novel a day and 1/2 a chapter of outline a day.  Wait, that doesn’t sound that hard.  Oh, yeah.  Forgot to calculate in 500 words of blog post a day.  Any advice you have about rewriting would be well received (my pottermore email would also be well received right about now), so please don’t be shy.  I’m going to go write some novel now. 

X’s and O’s,

Katie Lemontop

Ps: I’m rewriting Battle Camp!  If anyone (cougharianacough) has any title ideas (battle camp sounds a bit unprofessional) please comment!

2 thoughts on “Rewriting?

  1. Cool. I really like your lucid-dreaming idea for this NaNoWriMo, and I haven’t yet looked at the link to a publishing place that you have on that post (but I will after is comment is posted), so I think that maybe you should just go ahead and write the new book without rewriting another. It’s easy to contract, but if you find that to expand the old book you’re using Find & Replace to make your protagonist’s name into two words and using a bunch of little words, that will only decrease your chances of publication. It might be easier to start fresh. If you’re really eager about this, go ahead and write it in October!

    I’ve been planning ahead for NaNoWriMo too. My book is pretty much plannes out, except for the two major supporting characters’ names. I’m undecided. (And by the way, the book is called “Characters.” It’s actually the title. Yes, my main character writes.)

Leave a Reply

