Dance and Another Idea


I hate myself for not posting for two days in a row.  It sucks for me, it sucks for you….  I feel like I’m contributing tremendously to world suck when I don’t post.  In my defense, two nights ago I had JHAMS (Jesus Has All My Soul), and last night I had dance.  I’m finding that I’m liking dance a lot more this year than last year (I suppose that’s not too big because I only liked it moderately last year).  This is probably due to our new teacher.  I like our new teacher a bunch.  She actually teaches us things.  Last year, our teacher just put steps that we already knew together and had us perform them.  It was easy.  This year, it’s a lot harder. 

I feel like I actually have to practice at home (yes, that is a good thing).  In dance, I am enrolled in four classes, and they are: ballet, jazz, tap, and pointe.  Ballet is easy so far, but there’s this little voice in my head (I get those all the time) that’s telling me it’s going to get harder.  In jazz we’re just learning a lot of warm-ups, and our teacher encourages us to have fun.  Tap has been hard for me.  The steps are fast and complicated, but I think (hope) I’ll be able to keep up.  Lastly, there’s pointe.  Ah, pointe.  It’s the reason I live, yet it’s the bane of my existence.  For those of you who don’t already know, these are pointe shoes:

They look painful, you say?  Yeah, they are, for a bit.  Once you get used to them, they’re fine.  The first week of pointe was the only time I’ve ever had trouble with my shoes hurting my feet.  By the second week, I’m just dandy.  How can I be relatively happy with all of my weight on my biggest toes, you ask?  Well, I love ballet.  Yesterday, my pointe teacher asked what our favorite kind of dance was.  Mine is jazz, but I didn’t say that out loud.  She proceeded to say that if it wasn’t ballet, we shouldn’t be in this class, and if we didn’t like ballet, we should leave.  I didn’t leave for two reasons.  One, that would have been really awkward, and two, I like ballet.  I just like jazz better.  The best part of pointe is when you take your pointe shoes off.  When you do that, blood flows into your toes making them feel warm.  Although that’s a bit of an odd thing to say, it really does feel awesome. 

I just spent three paragraphs and one picture telling you about one of the reasons I haven’t been blogging.  The other: NaNoWriMo.  I bet you could guess that.  I may act all cool and suave about my NaNoWriMo idea, but I’m not.  Everytime I think I have an awesome idea, I start to plot it, and then I no longer find it interesting (and being interested in your story is an imperative thing when participating in NaNoWriMo).  Now, I think I’m out of ideas.  Actually, that’s a lie.  I have one idea left.  Just one.  This idea seems to be for more of a children’s novel to me, but it’s my last idea. 

This story would be about the Nothings.  We can’t see them.  We can’t see their houses, we can’t see their cars, we can’t see anything that’s Nothing-made.  They’re basically small, invisible humans.  We can’t see them, but they can see us.  And we kill them daily.  We step on them, their houses, their cars, and they die.  And their population is dwindling.  There would be one Nothing (a girl) who would save the whole race, yada, yada, yada.  I would probably throw a human that could see them in somewhere too. 

Suggestions?  Ideas?  Tips? ANYTHING?  

X’s and O’s,

Katie Lemontop

2 thoughts on “Dance and Another Idea

  1. As far as dancing goes, I like jazz better out of jazz and ballet, too, but maybe that’s because I’m not en pointe yet. Soon…And here are a few things that I feel like I have to say:

    1. I like your new novel idea, but I don’t like it as much as I did the lucid dreamer idea.
    2. In the email copy of this post that was sent to me, all the times you wrote the word “ballet” you spelled it with one l. When I clicked on the like to come here and comment, I noticed that they were all corrected.
    3. I love your blog header, but did you accidentally spell the word “immortal” with one m?
    4. I have my novel planned out. Actually, I don’t have a plot, but I have five characters, the first two scenes, and the title of the sequel.
    5. I apologize for notes 2 and 3. I just…notice spelling mistakes.

    • Don’t worry, Manet, I’m leaning towards the dreamer idea too. I accidentally forgot to spell-check before I published (darn ballet, keeps tripping me up!), so I had to spell-check after. Sorry about that.

      Don’t worry about offending me with constructive critism. I’m a bit grumbly about having to change the header, but I’m happy that you pointed it out. I take critism pretty well if I’m not tire and/or hungry.

      Holy. Crap. You have that much planned? Characters are always hard for me. I tend to over-do it when I’m forcing myself, so I just let them come to me. I love how you know the sequels title. That tends to happen to me too. I’ll tell people the sequels title, and then they’ll ask me for the first books title. When I tell them I haven’t gotten that far, they’ll give me this weird look.

Leave a Reply

