Good News and Bad News


Hi, readers!  I have some good news and some bad news to share with you.  The bad news is that someday you are going to die.  The good news is that I’m reading books on writing!  This is good news for me as well as you because I’m going to be sharing what I learn in these books with you!  And it’s just in time for NaNoWriMo!  I’m a little scatter-brained today if you can’t tell.  I’ve been singing and humming snippets of random songs and mumbling to myself more than usual.  I think I’ll go make myself some tea. 

I just went to turn on the kettle, and on my way back I slipped on the floor and ran into a door.  Yeah, I hope this tea helps.  Anyways, back to the good news.  I got three writing books.  They are Spilling Ink, No Plot?  No Problem!, and The Productive Writer.  These three books differ tremendously, and here’s why.  Spilling Ink, the book I’m currently reading, is a book for young writers.  It gives you the blocks to build a book.  It’s full of the basics.  This is also the largest of the three books.  It’s got bigger print, though, so don’t let the size fool you.  Next we’ve got The Productive Writer.  This book is all business.  It talks about building your life around writing.  Lastly, No Plot?  No Problem! is a book written specifically on how to survive NaNoWriMo.  It was written by the founder of NaNoWriMo. 

I’m going to start reading No Plot?  No Problem! when the new NaNoWriMo website is launched.  I think it’s a bit weird that I’m super excited.  It’s just a new website design, but it thrills me.  It’s another reminder of how close NaNoWriMo is.  I’ve been waiting for November since last December, and it’s almost here!  No Plot?  No Problem!  Is probably the shortest book, but I think it will be the most fun to read.  I already read the introduction, and it talks about stocking up on treats and caffeine.  Don’t worry, I’ll relay the important information when I finish reading it. 

At the moment, I’m reading Spilling Ink. 

It’s just what it says it is: A Young Writer’s Handbook.  You’ll most likely already know everything in this book, but there are a few eyebrow raisers and laughs packed in.  It’s a great reminder about the basics of writing, and it has tons of exercises that can help you develop and practice your writing.  My favorite exercise is the opening sentence one.  It tells you to choose an idea and write the first sentence.  Now write another first sentence.  If you don’t have any idea, write a first sentence and maybe you’ll come up with one! 

I hope to return soon with much more to tell you about all three of these books!  I also hope you– oh no, I forgot about my tea.  *runs to grab tea and add milk* Now I’m here with a luke-warm cup of tea.  I also hope you actually want to hear about these writing books. 

X’s and O’s,

Katie Lemontop

Leave a Reply

