A Note to Rick Riordan


I just finished The Son of Neptune.  I got it yesterday.  If you haven’t read it and plan on reading it, I would recommend not reading this post.  There will be an abundance of spoilers. 

Like I said, erm… typed, I just finished The Son of Neptune.  Over the course of reading the books I had written an email in my head to send to Rick Riordan.  As soon as I was done, I raced to the computer to type it up and send it to him.  Then I found out that he doesn’t accept emails from fans.  I understand, but I was ticked off.  I really had some important (well, not really) things to tell him!  So, I’m going to compose the email I would have sent to him here, on my blog. 

Dear Rick Riordan,

Out of all of the Percy Jackson books and The Lost Hero, I hate you  the most for The Son of Neptune.  This is because you brought to light a dangerous obsession that I have with Percy.  I’ve never noticed it before, but after reading so many books with Percy being the hero, I’ve classified him as the best.  The greatest.  The optimus maximus.  Sure, I like your other characters, too.  Annabeth?  Love her! (Even if she can get annoying) Rachel?  My soul sister!  Leo/Piper/Frank/Hazel?  Too cute.  Tyson/Ella? Way too cute!  Jason?  Well, I’m not liking him much.  As far as I’m concerned, he doesn’t exist.  The possibility that someone has the skills to match and — gods forbid — beat Percy?  That’s just preposterous! 

When Mars told Frank that he was possibly the most important to the mission, I practically hurled.  Suddenly I was throwing insults at Frank as fast as I could.  Anything to make Percy the most important again.  Similarly, when the giant Alcyoneaus proposed that Gaea might hate Jason more than she hates Percy?  Such a thing cannot be.  Jason is nothing.  Percy is everything.  Gaea hates Percy more.  Percy just has to be the most important.  He has to be!  I believe this so thoroughly that I hit a piece of granite (though that was an accident that happened when I was throwing a hissy fit). 

There is another reason I hate you for writing The Son of Neptune.  Ever since I started reading The Lost Hero, I’ve been dreaming of the page when The Greek and Roman camps would meet.  I’ve acted it out in my head so many times that there’s no way you can surprise me.  Although I assume that you already did.  I was so sure that they would meet in this book.  Even as the pages flew by and the half I had left to read grew thinner and thinner, I was positive.  I read the last page and turned.  I read through half of the glossary trying to figure out where the rest of the story was.  That was the biggest shock in the whole book. 

Thanks for the books,

Katie Lemontop

As I’m sure you, my reader, have gathered from reading my email to Mr. Riordan, I am a bit of a Percy freak. I’m not a Percabeth freak, or a Prachel (Racy?)  freak.  I am definitely a Preyna freak, if those exist.  I’m all for them getting together.  Annabeth annoys me for some reason.  Maybe it’s because she’s a bit of a know-it-all, but so am I.  I hope you found my unsent email to Rick Riordan entertaining.  It would have been more entertaining if I had included the part about tearing him to shreads and feasting on his innards, but I figured I’d spare your stomachs. 

Ta-ta!

Katie Lemontop

9 thoughts on “A Note to Rick Riordan

  1. In the theme of Percy Jackson characters, I have a few favorites. I like Percy, of course, and Annabeth’s one of my favorites, but of the five most recent, not counting Percy (ie. Leo, Piper, Jason, Hazel, and Frank) Leo is probably my favorite, along with Hazel, because their back stories are so interesting. Jason and Piper are just sort of boring.

    • CAN I GIVE YOUR EMAIL A HUG?! THIS WAS EXACTLY MY FEELING! ANNABETH SORTA BECAME REAAAAAAALLLLY ANNOYING THROUGH THE LOST HERO AD THE SON OF NEPTUNE, YET I STILL WANT HER AND PERCY TO REUNITE ONLY BECAUSE OF PERCY AND YEAH SAME, I AM A BIG PERCY FREAK AND OMG YES I THOUGHT I WAS THE ONLY ONE WHO ABSOLUTELY DESPISED JASON. HE’S SORTA TOO PERFECT WHICH MAKES HIM BORING. AND PIPER SEEMS LIKE A TYPICAL TEENAGER GIRL WHO LOST HER BOYFRIEND THIS AND THAT. LEO IS REALLY COOL AND HAZEL TOO AND FRANK, BUT I DON’T APPROVE OF FRANK BEING THE LEADER. ok my feelings all summed in one email. cool. :’)

      • Awesome! I’m so glad you agree with me on so many levels! But, what to you think about Percy and Reyna getting together? I think it would be great.

  2. THANK YOU! I also threw a hissy fit when they said Jason was the ”leader” in the quest and Percy was ”glue”. I was like WHAT THE HELL?! HE TOOK 11 YEARS TO BECOME PRAETOR AND PERCY TOOK A WEEK! PERCY DEFEATED THREE TITANS INCLUDING KRONOS, JASON DEFEATED ONE. PERCY GOT THE EAGLE BACK, JASON WAS A MASSIVE SNOB. DIE JASON DIE! PERCY. MUST. BE. LEADER!!!!!!!

    *Another hissy fit later* Yeah. That pretty much sums up my feelings. I also think that Percy and Reyna would be pretty cool, but I’m a huge Leyna (Leo and Reyna) supporter. 🙂

    Sees the cover of MoA.
    *FANGIRLIN!!!*

    OMG! Percy and Jason fighting on the COVER?! The cover is always an illustration of the most important scene! Maybe Rick sees how much we want to snap Jason like a twig! Maybe he gets killed off! Maybe Percy becomes the leader!!!!

    *faints from joy*

    *Regains consciousness, reads first MoA chapter*

    Percy is new praetor. Jason is wearing his old praetor’s outfit. O.O

      • Yeah, it’s gonna be amazing! And you are a lot awesomer than me!! My copy and pastel doesn’t work, but if you type in, ”official first chapter of the mark of athena” into google, it’s on the disney hyperion webstite. 😀

  3. And aside from Jason’s awful personality, I just don’t see how he is any match for Percy! He gets tired after a single lightning bolt, whereas Percy can heal himself and others with water, control water, start earthquakes, start hurricanes and hardly gets tired because when he does? He heals himself with water!!!!

Leave a Reply

