Plot


You need to have plot to write a good story.  You really, really do.  If there’s a fiction book out there with no plot and it gets read, prove me wrong.  But I think I’m right.  Plot is something a novel has to have. 

Until recently, I thought all writers knew what plot was and how to come up with one.  Apparently, that is not true.  Apparently, I’m the exception, not the rule.  I knew what plot was long before I started writing.  I was coming up with stories in my head faster than I thought was possible.  When I started writing, I understood the necessity of plot immediately.  I thought everyone was like this, and then I read Spilling Ink and my ignorance was shattered.

Both authors of Spilling Ink had trouble coming up with plots.  Just the thought of plot freaked them out.  They didn’t get it, and they didn’t know how to write a story with plot.  I don’t understand this.  How can you not understand plot?  It’s the most important thing in a novel!  If you don’t have plot, no one will want to read your story.  HOW DO YOU NOT UNDERSTAND THIS?  I calmed down after that, thankfully.  I accepted that maybe I was extraordinary because I got plot as soon as I learned of it. 

I just read about plot in No Plot?  No Problem! today.  The book said that plot was intimidating.  What?  Plot isn’t intimidating.  The book also said that plot can stop people from writing.  WHAT?!  Plot is what got me writing!  But then it said, “Some writers are dazzlingly adept at coming up with the series of unexpected developments and juicy revelations that we commonly regard as a story’s plot.  If you are one of these people, you are lucky indeed, and the chances are good that you already have a semicomplete story arc in mind for the next month’s project.”

Try several semicomplete story arcs that have been tossed aside.  Maybe my curse for being able to come up with many plots quickly is that most of them are junk.  Or maybe I’m just never satisfied.  Whatever it is, I hope it will give me a break and let me come up with a plot that I like for NaNoWriMo.  And supporting characters.  I need those too. 

If plot is my strong point for writing, supporting characters are my weak point.  Most of my stories that I’ve written don’t have them, and I only realized this now!  Why don’t my characters have friends?  Why are all of my main characters loners?  I’m determined to give my main character friends this time even if it blows up in my face. 

Does anyone else have these problems?  Am I the only one?  Am I alone in the world?

X’s and O’s,

Katie Lemontop

3 thoughts on “Plot

  1. I’m not sure how my book is going to end this year…I know that Celine will kill first her own parents, then Juli’s. And Les, Juli’s brother, might…snap out of it? Have a fight with the police while he’s still under? Juli will fall apart and become Emmeline? Whatever it is, it won’t be happy…

    This is a great post on plot. The book Anne of Green Gables (L.M. Montgomery) has no plot, if you want to know of a besteller that lacks one.

    • My first response to your NaNoWriMo novel: gasp. Actually, it was more like GASP. I think that’s the first time my jaw has litteraly dropped. That is indeed an unhappy book.

  2. Hi!
    No you are not alone! I have always paid attention to plot. Even when I started writing as an 8 year old! Plot and characters are the things I pay the most attention to and the things I enjoy the most when writing:)

Leave a Reply

