Hey!  Long time no post.  Yeah… I honestly did think about blogging everyday that I didn’t.  I did not forget about my blog, I just….  Well, NaNoWriMo got the best of me.  You might be under the impression that NaNoWriMo hasn’t started yet, but you would be wrong.  NaNoWriMo started a long time ago.  It started right after the last NaNo ended.  And there’s now about one day until it starts again.  And I have no plot whatsoever. 

Yeah, you could say I’ve got the NaNoWriMo jitters, but that would be an understatement.  I’m a mess.  I look like I’m holding up fine, but I’m not.  These past few days I’ve been relaxing.  I was sure that I’d come up with an idea eventually.  Now I’m scrambling because I don’t have one.  At all.  I don’t like plotting beforehand because I think it ruins the fun of writing.  So I am without an idea for NaNoWriMo and I’m have a nervous breakdown. 

But enough about me, how’ve you been doing?  Good?  Well, that’s good.  Been keeping up on your blog posts?  Wonderful.  Fully developed plot for NaNoWriMo?  Awesome.  Prepared and not stressed at all for the start of November?  Okay, now you’re just being mean.  Back to me. 

What do I do when I have no ideas for NaNoWriMo?  I freak out and don’t do anything to fix it.  You think that sounds irrational?  Yeah, it is.  But, whatever.  Last year I jumped in five days into November with only a title and a vague idea of a character.  I did awful, but that’s besides the point.  I’ll get it all sorted out.  Eventually.  Probably after I trick or treat.  But I’ll figure it out.  Believe in me. 

The thing that freaks me out the most about NaNoWriMo starting is probably that every one of you is a plotter, while I’m a pantser.  I know Slacker is a panster too, but other than that I know no other pantsers who are going to come up with their plots on October 31st, or, God forbid, on November 1st.  So, to help me, all I’m asking you to do is to give me is a burst of telepathic support.  That’s not too much to ask, is it? 

Love and Inspiration to you all,

Katie Lemontop

5 thoughts on “

  1. Don’t stress. I jumped in five days late last year too.

    No plot? No problem! Forget having an outline. Instead, focus on characters and how to develop them. Then, start with a beginning event (just an event, not conflict). Figure out how you want the character(s) to change and/or the last event. (That’s what I did last year and it worked.)

    This year, I have no plot decided on nor an outline. Because everything in my life is crazy (with everything going down in my family and school), I’m just going to write about each day as it happens. Replacing the plot, character development (especially within myself) will be the focus. In a sense, I’m writing a work of literary fiction, for which I have high hopes.

  2. I’m doing sort of literary fiction too. Anyways, Katie, you are doing AMAZING- on the NaNo status page, it says you’ll finish you 40,000 words on Nov. 20, while I’ll finish my 10,000 sometime in January. :/

Leave a Reply

