I’m Done


Hello, faithful readers!  I finished my novel.   I don’t just mean my word count goal, I legitimately finished my novel at 50,203 words.  And I’m very proud of myself.  I think that after you finish a novel it is okay to be proud of yourself.  After finishing a novel in a month, though, it should be expected.  There was weak celebration from everyone I told, but no one truly grasped what I was feeling.  This is the first novel I’ve finished.  True, I’ve finished three novellas in the past, but this is an actual novel.  I am an actual novelist!

Unfortunately for me, NaNoWriMo was bazaar.  It didn’t go as I had planned.  When does it ever?  Let me give you the general run down of how it went for me.

Pre-NaNoWriMo: I planned.  No, really, I did.  I planned for several stories, in fact.  I didn’t like any of them.  I didn’t know anything about my story when I sat down on November 1st. 

Week One: I expected smooth sailing, and I got what I planned for.  It was easy, and I built up a nice word cushion.  My word count goal was 40,000 words.

Week Two: I expected it to be harder.  It wasn’t.  While everyone else was struggling through the danger that is week two, I managed to stay in week one mode.  At the end of this week, I switched my goal to 50,000 words.  I was still ahead.

Week Three: I had to take a few days off of writing to go to the land by the sea (I could have visited Kirsten!) for family stuff.  I knew I was going to be behind when I got  home.  I was.  Week three was week two for me.  It was awful, and I didn’t want to write at all. 

Week Four: It was still pretty bad during week four.  I did the NOW (Night of Write) on November 26th, and managed to get ahead.  Barely.  From there I stayed just where I needed to.  And then, yesterday, I started writing.  And I kept writing.  And writing.  And writing.  Until I finished.  I wrote an epilogue that was so wonderful.  I almost cried when I wrote “The End”.  And then I danced like crazy.  I didn’t shout or squeal because there were other people in the house. 

There you have it.  My weird experience in NaNoWriMo.  What I find funny is that last year I lowered my word count goal 10,000 words, and this year I raised it 10,000 words.  I guess it all evens out in the end.

One thought on “I’m Done

  1. Congratulations!!!! I’ve yet to finish a novel, but I’m getting serious about my writing again and hope to before too long. I can’t imagine writing one in a single month. Good job.

Leave a Reply

