Poetry on the Spot


I wanted to blog but nothing’s going on in my life besides a cute pug but that’s old news that I didn’t share with you all when it was new news.  SO.  I will be writing poetry on the spot.  None of this was written before I wrote this blog post.  Here I go.

 

Spaces
Big empty spaces
Black and white and gray and–

I can’t do this.  I quit.  Because, you know what?  I’m a quitter.

 

Empty
Nothing to fill them
They sit without purpose on–

Nope.  Still a quit-ter (sing-song voice).

The day of dying
Because perhaps a death– another nothing– can fill them
But, no
Death is not the answer

That time I AT LEAST got to a real stopping point before I–

So they remain
Empty
And without purpose
Yet they are there
We see them
And they yearn to be filled
They cry out so loud
Begging and pleading and wishing and hoping
And they are us
We are big, empty
Black and white and grey
Yearning, begging, crying
Empty

Empty

 

Empty

 

 

 

 

Spaces

 

That’s the end.  That… actually turned out okay.  Here’s what it would look like without all of my interruptions.

Spaces
Big empty spaces
Black and white and gray and empty
Nothing to fill them
They sit without purpose on the day of dying
Because perhaps a death– another nothing– can fill them
But, no
Death is not the answer
So they remain
Empty
And without purpose
Yet they are there
We see them
And they yearn to be filled
They cry out so loud
Begging and pleading and wishing and hoping
And they are us
We are big, empty
Black and white and grey
Yearning, begging, crying
Empty

Empty

 

Empty

 

 

 

 

Spaces

 

What do you think?  Was it okay?

I spelled gre(a)y two different ways and didn’t realize it until now,
Katie Lemontop

P.S. You were thinking about that pug the whole time, weren’t you?

P.P.S.  PUG

This is the pug [Orianna, or Ori (half a wish to whoever can tell me where that’s from!)] around six months ago when she was a puppy. HOW CUTE IS SHE?

Leave a Reply

